It’s gotta be the shoes…..My Top 10 Favourite Sneakers of All Time

default_display_image

So today, NBAStore.com released…or should I say, re-released, the Air Jordan 5 Retro “Grapes” – http://on.nba.com/165tGkj  and the Air Jordan 1 Retro ’93 – http://on.nba.com/Ys3u0B

Image

Now I have been, and always will be, a sneaker head. I may not wear as many of them lately because the styles (especially for hoops sneakers) have simply gotten too ridiculous….case in point, the OKC Thunder Russel Westbrook’s shocking green Air Jordans that he brandished on court this past NBA season, pictured below….

Image

I mean seriously. Seriously? 😐

These days I stick to my trusty Converse all-stars, Vans, or something  a bit less bulky and a lot less loud. But what the release of the  retro Air Jordans did get me thinking about, was where some of the most popular sneakers ever released, rank on my all-time list. That is to say…which sneakers would make the list of my Top 10 Favourite Sneakers of all-time.

Well, with that being said, let the countdown begin:

10. The LA Techs. I mean….come on  guys….it had LIGHTS !!!!!  LIGHTS !!!!!

la-gear

9. This shoe really made the rounds back at my high school. What a favourite this was, the Nike Air Hurache. It wasn’t loud, but neat and stylish. I have seen a few of these making a comeback in recent years and whenever I spot a pair, I get instantly nostalgic.

nike-air-trainer-huarache-3

8. The first Air Jordans to make my list, is a release that really divided opinion among sneaker lovers. Many were not in love with the patent leather design, however I thought it was a stroke of creative genius. A great twist on a great sneaker.

Air_Jordan_11_Retro_2012_Bred_GS_S_1__99372.1347934851.1280.1280

7. Another grossly under-appreciated, yet terrific sneaker, the Nike Tn Max. I could never understand why this sneaker didn’t get the appreciation it deserved. The design of this shoe was sublime, and it’s comfort level and style (and price), surpassed most.

air-max-tn-black-white-2_1

6. An all-world classic. The ageless wonder, the Converse all-star is in a class of it’s own. This sneaker was first produced in 1917 and has been  a sneaker-head favourite ever since. If you can conceive of a colour combination or style, you can make it work on a pair of “Chucks”.

converse-all-star-modelli

5. Another of the Air Jordans to make this  list, the Air Jordan 6. One of my favourite Jordans (the black and red version in particular), this sneaker was just a cool blend of style, flair and substance. Do y’all remember when you could ACTUALLY rock a pair of basketball sneakers at a party as well as on the court…and it would actually work?

Air-Jordan-6

4.  A sneaker you could pump up before you hit the court, or the streets. Pointless? Maybe. Awesome? Undoubtedly. The Reebok Pumps. Aah….the 90’s.

tumblr_lsdv3l0RH31r2mz4xo1_500

3. This sneaker was huge, not just because Patrick Ewing was a “Yaadie”, but because it was one of the few sneakers not branded Nike, Adidas or Reebok, to really make a big statement during the 90’s.

ewing-33-retro

2. Need I say more? It was the sneaker  that changed the game, and pretty fitting, since it was worn by the player who  changed the game. The Air Jordan 1.

Air-Jordan-1-OG_1350815876

1. My number one choice may surprise a lot of folks, but here it is: The Adidas Superstar.  The “Shelltoe” was born in 1969, and is still going strong. I have owned about six different pairs in my life, and still own a couple pairs (one black, one white) today. Sleek, neat, stylish, versatile, just an all-word winner. Will forever be a classic.

adidas-originals-superstar-80s-1

What do you think of my picks?

Leave me your comments or hit me up on twitter: @nickantonio

Leave a comment